June, 2005 Microwave Review

## Report on YU IEEE MTT-S Chapter Meeting

Since 1989 when it was founded, Yugoslavia IEEE MTT-S Chapter has worked very successfully. A special meeting devoted to the celebration of 15 years of the Chapter work was held in Belgrade on 19<sup>th</sup> January 2005. Beside the members of the YU MTT-S Chapter and YU MTT Society, there were many prominent guests. Prof. dr Bratislav Milovanović, the president of the Yugoslav Society for Microwave Technique and Technologies and the recently elected Chairman of Yugoslavia IEEE MTT-S Chapter gave the opening speech. Then, Prof. dr Mihajlo Vukobratović, member of Serbian Academy of Science and Art and the president of Engineering Academy of Serbia and Montenegro as well as Prof. dr Đorđe Paunović, YU IEEE Section, addressed to the present people.



The Chapter activities during the last five years were summarized by Prof. Milovanović. Since one more jubilee was also celebrated - ten years of publishing of the journal Microwave Review, a publication of YU MTT-S Chapter and Yugoslav Society for Microwave Technique and Technologies - Prof. dr Vera Marković, the editor of the Journal, gave a brief overview of the journal history.

The Chapter awards for "special achievements and contribution to the field of microwaves" were awarded to Professor Aleksandar Marinčić, a member of Serbian Academy of Science and Art and the former Chapter Chairman, and professor Aleksandar Nešić (IMTEL Institute, Belgrade). The laureates gave lectures: Prof. Marinčić - «Mihajlo Pupin's contribution to the field of telecommunications» and Prof. Nešić «Three decades of microwave technique development in the IMTEL Institute». An award for «special contribution to the Chapter activities» went to Dr Branka Jokanović (IMTEL Institute, Belgrade), one of the Chapter founders and the first Chapter Chairman.



A detail from the awarding ceremony: Dr. Branka Jokanović, Prof. Dr Aleksandar Marinčić, Prof. Dr. Bratislav Milovanović (Chapter Chairman), Prof. Dr. Aleksandar Nešić and Prof. Dr. Branko Kolundžija (Chapter Co-Chairman)